Understanding Indian eVisa Airport and Seaports for Entry and Exit

Traveling to India has never been easier, thanks to the Indian eVisa. This electronic visa system allows travelers from eligible countries to apply for a visa online, making the process more convenient and time-efficient. However, it’s crucial to know the specific airports and seaports that accept Indian eVisa for entry and exit to ensure a smooth journey. In this guide, we’ll cover everything you need to know about the Indian eVisa entry and exit points. Indian eVisa Airport and Seaports for Entry

Understanding Indian eVisa

What is an Indian eVisa?

An Indian eVisa is an electronic authorization to travel to India for business, tourism, or medical purposes. Introduced by the Indian Government, it simplifies the visa application process by allowing travelers to apply online without needing to visit an embassy or consulate.

Types of Indian eVisa

There are several types of Indian eVisa, each catering to different travel purposes:

  • e-Tourist Visa: For tourism and sightseeing.
  • e-Business Visa: For business-related trips.
  • e-Medical Visa: For medical treatments.
  • e-Medical Attendant Visa: For accompanying a patient traveling on an e-Medical Visa.

Eligibility Criteria for Indian eVisa

Eligible Countries

The Indian eVisa is available to citizens of over 160 countries, including the USA, UK, Australia, Canada, and many EU countries. The complete list of eligible countries can be found on the official Indian eVisa website. Indian eVisa ports allowed for exit

Necessary Documents

To apply for an Indian eVisa, you will need:

  • A valid passport with at least six months of validity from the date of arrival in India.
  • A recent passport-sized photograph.
  • A scanned copy of the passport’s biographical page.
  • A valid email address.
  • Credit/debit card for visa fee payment.

Benefits of Indian eVisa


Applying for an Indian eVisa is straightforward and can be done from the comfort of your home. No need to visit embassies or consulates.


The online application process saves time, with most eVisas being processed within 72 hours.


The Indian eVisa system is accessible 24/7, allowing you to apply at any time.

Indian eVisa Airport and Seaports for Entry

List of Authorized Airports

Travelers with an Indian eVisa can enter through any of the 28 designated airports. Some of the major ones include:

  • Indira Gandhi International Airport, Delhi
  • Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj International Airport, Mumbai
  • Kempegowda International Airport, Bengaluru
  • Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose International Airport, Kolkata

List of Authorized Seaports

For those arriving by sea, there are 5 designated seaports:

  • Chennai Seaport
  • Cochin Seaport
  • Mormugao Seaport
  • New Mangalore Seaport
  • Mumbai Seaport

Major Airports for Indian eVisa Entry

Indira Gandhi International Airport, Delhi

Delhi’s airport is one of the busiest in India, providing excellent connectivity and facilities. It is a major hub for international travelers.

Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj International Airport, Mumbai

Mumbai’s airport is renowned for its state-of-the-art infrastructure and serves as a primary entry point for travelers to India.

Kempegowda International Airport, Bengaluru

Known for its efficiency and modern amenities, Bengaluru’s airport is a popular choice for business travelers.

Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose International Airport, Kolkata

Kolkata’s airport is a key gateway to eastern India, offering various services and amenities to travelers.

Major Seaports for Indian eVisa Entry

Chennai Seaport

Chennai Seaport is a major entry point for those arriving by cruise ships and cargo vessels, offering smooth immigration processes.

Cochin Seaport

Cochin Seaport in Kerala is famous for its scenic beauty and is a preferred entry point for travelers on cruise ships.

Mormugao Seaport

Located in Goa, Mormugao Seaport is popular among tourists looking to explore Goa’s beaches and heritage sites.

New Mangalore Seaport

This seaport serves as an entry point for travelers visiting the southern part of India, particularly Karnataka.

Indian eVisa Ports Allowed for Exit

List of Authorized Airports for Exit

Travelers can exit India through any of the 34 designated airports, which include the 28 entry points plus additional ones like:

  • Pune Airport
  • Jaipur Airport
  • Coimbatore Airport

List of Authorized Seaports for Exit

The same five seaports authorized for entry can also be used for exiting India:

  • Chennai Seaport
  • Cochin Seaport
  • Mormugao Seaport
  • New Mangalore Seaport
  • Mumbai Seaport

Ensuring a Smooth Entry and Exit with Indian eVisa

Pre-Arrival Preparations

Ensure you have a printed copy of your eVisa, your passport, and other required documents. Double-check the entry points.

On-Arrival Procedures

Upon arrival, head to the immigration counters designated for eVisa holders. Have your documents ready for inspection to speed up the process.

Common Issues and Solutions

Delays in Approval

Sometimes, eVisa approval may take longer than expected. It’s advisable to apply well in advance of your travel dates.

Problems at Entry Points

If you face any issues at the entry points, such as misunderstandings about the validity of your eVisa, seek assistance from the immigration officers.

Frequently Asked Questions About Indian eVisa Entry and Exit Points

How to Find Updated Lists?

The official Indian eVisa website regularly updates the list of authorized entry and exit points. Always check it before planning your trip.

Can the Entry/Exit Points Change?

Yes, the government can update the list of entry and exit points. Always refer to the latest information.

Tips for Travelers Using Indian eVisa

Planning Your Itinerary

Plan your travel itinerary, including entry and exit points, to avoid any last-minute surprises.

Keeping Documents Handy

Always keep a set of photocopies of your documents, including your eVisa, passport, and travel itinerary.

Future of Indian eVisa and Port Accessibility

Expansion Plans

The Indian government plans to expand the list of eVisa entry and exit points to enhance accessibility for travelers.

Technological Enhancements

Future technological advancements aim to streamline the eVisa application and verification process even further.


The Indian eVisa has revolutionized travel to India, making it more accessible and convenient for international visitors. Knowing the authorized entry and exit points is crucial to ensure a hassle-free journey. By following the guidelines and preparing adequately, you can enjoy a smooth and memorable trip to India.